Maohi Nui (French Polynesia)

French Polynesia, a self-governing dependency of France, lies in the Pacific Ocean, about halfway between California and Australia. French Polynesia includes five archipelagos: the Tuamotu, Society, Marquesas, Austral, and Gambier island groups. The Society Islands include the Îles sous le Vent (Leeward Islands) and Îles du Vent (Windward Islands). Tahiti is part of the latter group and is the main inhabited island. Over half of French Polynesia’s residents live on the island of Tahiti.

Polynesians account for 78 percent of the population. About 12 percent of the people are Chinese.

Latest News