Sabeel urges churches to #KeepAwake and preach on Palestine in Advent

Sabeel_logo_small.pngFor too long, many churches have shied away from talking about Palestinian Christians from the pulpit, but we know that for our faith to be truly alive, we must preach good news to the poor and freedom to the oppressed (Luke 4:18). Sunday November 29, the Sunday after Thanksgiving is the first week of Advent, when Christians around the world focus on Bethlehem, Palestine. It is also International Day of Solidarity for the Palestinian People. The Sabeel Ecumenical Liberation Theology Center invites congregations to practice solidarity by preaching Palestine on that day. Its goal is to encourage 100 churches to commit to incorporate Palestine into their worship service.

Sabeel invites churches to Preach Palestine on the first week of Advent. We have prayers, songs, litanies, sermons, and more to help your congregation! #KeepAwake and learn more and commit your congregation.

In addition, on November 11, at noon Eastern US time (7pm Jerusalem time) – Join Sabeel for an event related to #KeepAwake:

Global Clergy Reflect on Keep Awake: A Call to preach Palestine
Wednesday, November 11, 12pm ET, 5pm GMT, 7pm Palestine

Register today 

Join Sabeel to hear from clergy across the globe on why preaching Palestine is critical to their faith. These inspiring faith leaders will share their unique perspective. Also learn more about how to join 100 congregations in action for Keep Awake: A Call to Preach Palestine on Nov. 29th. 


Showing 2 reactions